Plz help with Shootools and Dynamic Perception systems

ithinkiam

New time-lapser
Hi, everyone

As a experienced photographer, I am a newbie to TimeLapse world. Currently, I am shopping around for a portable system and would like to have you share your experiences and opinions.

I have narrowed down to two systems: Shoottools and DP sliders. Two systems share same characters: the shortest section is short enough to put in a carry-on case or backpack; has extension kit to work a longer distance.

I understood both are great systems for TL work, but there are still some I want to find out: payload capacity of jointed rails and noise level.

Firstly, Shootools only states that single rail support s a load over 20 Kg, not mentioning a combined payload. I have sent emails to info@shootools.com, but failed to deliver. Did anyone communicate with them before?

Secondly, are these two system quiet enough for using in a interview video shoot as a second shooter slider? I have found squeaky sound are noticeable from videos from youtube and vimeo. I do appreciate if experts here could educate me about some basic knowledges of motors used on camera sliders. What type of motors are commonly used on sliders: brushed ,brushless or others? How to reduce the noise level of it?

Thanks in advance for your time and input.

Last edited:

Oliver

Active time-lapser
I have the full DP stage one set. I made review here.
Not sure about the max payload but it depends of the length between the support. DP recommends to add some support (tripod, monopod) every 3 feet. I've done 6 feet without support using moderate load (4 kg).

As for the motors, I'm not sure but you can check that http://support.dynamicperception.co...ference-between-DC-motors-and-Stepper-motors-

As Last for interview video, the motors do generate a little bit of noise but I would say that's very manageable especially is you use a dedicated mic (button or directional).